IMT’s efforts to catalyze wide-spread and sustained demand for high-performance buildings is driven by an array of subject matter experts in real estate, building performance policy and programs, finance, codes, and more. Our staff represents broad and deep experience in every aspect of building energy efficiency. Click below on individual profiles to learn more.

Lotte Schlegel

Executive Director
lotte@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x324
As IMT’s Executive Director, Lotte is IMT’s primary spokesperson and guides IMT’s growth with an eye on both big-picture vision and tactical execution.

Alex Dews

Managing Director of Programs
alex.dews@imt.org
As IMT's Managing Direct of Programs, Alex oversees all programmatic work across policy, business engagement, and strategy & analysis.

Katie Weeks

Managing Director, Communications and Development
katie.weeks@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x306
Katie leads IMT positioning, overseeing communications and development strategy, as well as messaging and branding across IMT’s core programs. 

Betsy Law

Managing Director, Operations
betsy.law@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x329
Betsy leads all internal operations and oversees the strategic growth of IMT.

Cliff Majersik

Senior Advisor, Policy and Programs
cliff@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x303
A respected industry leader, Cliff is a pioneer of concepts in real estate and building performance policy that optimize energy use and help transition to a low-carbon economy.

Mark Chao

Senior Advisor, Founding Staff Member
markchao@imt.org | (607)257-3348
Mark is the founding staff member of IMT. Having served continuously in various capacities since 1996, he now works as senior advisor, providing technical and strategic support to IMT’s senior management and program staff.

Ryan Freed

Senior Director, Policy & Regulatory Strategy
ryan.freed@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x332
Ryan is the Senior Director, Policy & Regulatory Strategy.

David Cohan

Senior Advisor
david.cohan@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x311
David is IMT's Senior Advisor and leads the VHE HVAC pilot program. 

Lindsey Falasca

Director, Building Innovation Hub
lindsey.falasca@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x318
Lindsey Falasca is the Director of the Building Innovation Hub in Washington, DC.

Margaret Lo

Director, Business Engagement
margaret.lo@imt.org
As IMT’s Director of Business Engagement, Margaret provides resources and solutions to businesses that improve their energy efficiency and building performance at the national and local levels. 

Michele Lofton

Associate Director, Development
michele.lofton@imt.org
Michele is IMT's Associate Director of Development and leads IMT's strategic fundraising efforts.

Theresa Backhus

Associate Director of Outreach and Engagement, Building Innovation Hub
Theresa@buildinginnovationhub.org
Theresa Backhus is the Associate Director of Outreach and Engagement for the Building Innovation Hub, ensuring that the Hub’s mission and strategic vision is executed.

Amy Boyce

Associate Director, Codes and Technical Strategy
amy.boyce@imt.org
Amy develops and deploys local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation through codes and building technology.

Julia Eagles

Associate Director of Utility & Regulatory Strategy
julia.eagles@imt.org | (612)747-9821
As IMT's Associate Director of Utility and Regulatory Strategy, Julia is responsible for developing and deploying local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation.

Zachary Hart

Associate Director, Building Performance Policy
zachary.hart@imt.org | (913)568-9813
Zachary leads IMT's work on the City Energy Project and also supports local governments' energy efficiency strategies through the American Cities Climate Challenge.

Jessica Miller

Associate Director, Policy Strategy and Engagement
jessica.miller@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x320
Jessica creates connections between the public and private sectors and works with diverse stakeholders to reach their respective climate and business goals.

Precious Rideout

Associate Director, Community Engagement
precious.rideout@imt.org
Precious Rideout is IMT's Associate Director of Community Engagement, where she serves as the primary representative to community organizations ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and people.

Colin Curzi

Associate Director, Business Engagement
colin.curzi@imt.org
Colin Curzi is IMT’s Senior Manager of Business Engagement focused on developing the business practices that advance high-performance buildings in cities across the country.

Alexandra Laney

Associate Director, Communications
alexandra.laney@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x301
Alexandra is the primary contact for media relations and manages IMT's public presence, including digital strategy and communication campaigns.

Mike Towler

Senior Manager, Finance and Operations
mike.towler@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x313
Mike supports the day-to-day operations of IMT, working closely with the program, finance, and development teams.

Tara Brown

Manager, City Solutions
tara.brown@imt.org | (612)524-8558
Tara Brown is IMT's Manager of City Solutions.

Hae-Young Kang

Manager, Accounting Services
haeyoung@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x307
Hae-Young oversees IMT’s accounting and ensures nonprofit audit and accounting compliance.

Benjamin Silverman

Manager, Policy Design and Implementation
ben.silverman@imt.org
Benjamin Silverman is IMT's Manager for Policy Design and Implementation. He works to implement IMT’s public sector strategies and the adoption of decarbonization policies in achieving climate and equity goals.

David Gillick

Senior Analyst
david.gillick@imt.org
David is IMT’s Senior Analyst, focused on providing data and policy analysis to drive market adoption of high-performing building standards and social equity priorities.

Rita Perez

Senior Communications Associate
rita.perez@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x331
Rita is IMT’s Senior Communications Associate and plays a vital role in shaping IMT’s social media strategies and multi-media production of outreach plans across IMT programs.

Esmeralda Hic

Policy and Community Engagement Fellow
esmeralda.hic@imt.org
Esmeralda Hic is the Policy Fellow for the Institute for Market Transformation (IMT) in collaboration with the RAY Diversity Fellowship program.

James Burton

Senior Associate, Policy
james.burton@imt.org
James is IMT’s Senior Policy Associate and supports IMT's mission to promote the development and adoption of equitable building performance policies by state and local governments.

Caitlin M. Caplinger

Senior Communications Associate, Storytelling
caitlin.caplinger@imt.org
Caitlin M Caplinger (they/them) is IMT's Senior Communications Associate, Storytelling, and joined IMT in April 2022.

Giulianna Di Lauro

Senior Manager, Community Engagement
g.dilauro@imt.org
Giulianna is IMT’s Senior Community Engagement Manager. In her role, she serves as a primary representative to community organizations and city staff ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and accessibility.

Cherylyn Kelley

Manager, Building Energy Codes and Policy
cherylyn.kelley@imt.org
Cherylyn is IMT’s Manager of Building Energy Codes and Policy and supports policy development and implementation.

Ella Wetlesen

Program Associate, Business Engagement
ella.wetlesen@imt.org
Ella Wetlesen is IMT’s program associate for the business engagement team, supporting projects across the organization.