IMT’s efforts to catalyze wide-spread and sustained demand for high-performance buildings is driven by an array of subject matter experts in real estate, building performance policy and programs, finance, codes, and more. Our staff represents broad and deep experience in every aspect of building energy efficiency. Click below on individual profiles to learn more.

Lotte Schlegel

Executive Director
lotte@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x324
As IMT’s Executive Director, Lotte is IMT’s primary spokesperson and guides IMT’s growth with an eye on both big-picture vision and tactical execution.

Alex Dews

Managing Director of Programs
alex.dews@imt.org
As IMT's Managing Direct of Programs, Alex oversees all programmatic work across policy, business engagement, and strategy & analysis.

Betsy Law

Managing Director, Operations
betsy.law@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x329
Betsy leads all internal operations and oversees the strategic growth of IMT.

Cliff Majersik

Senior Advisor, Policy and Programs
cliff@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x303
A respected industry leader, Cliff is a pioneer of concepts in real estate and building performance policy that optimize energy use and help transition to a low-carbon economy.

Mark Chao

Senior Advisor, Founding Staff Member
markchao@imt.org | (607)257-3348
Mark is the founding staff member of IMT. Having served continuously in various capacities since 1996, he now works as senior advisor, providing technical and strategic support to IMT’s senior management and program staff.

Ryan Freed

Senior Director, Policy & Regulatory Strategy
ryan.freed@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x332
Ryan is the Senior Director, Policy & Regulatory Strategy.

David Cohan

Senior Advisor
david.cohan@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x311
David is IMT's Senior Advisor and leads the VHE HVAC pilot program. 

Lindsey Falasca

Director for Net Zero Federal Buildings at the White House Council on Environmental Quality
lindsey.falasca@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x318
As of August 2022, she’s serving in a detail position as the Director for Net Zero Federal Buildings at the White House Council on Environmental Quality.

Margaret Lo

Director, Business Engagement
margaret.lo@imt.org
As IMT’s Director of Business Engagement, Margaret provides resources and solutions to businesses that improve their energy efficiency and building performance at the national and local levels. 

Michele Lofton

Associate Director, Development
michele.lofton@imt.org
Michele is IMT's Associate Director of Development and leads IMT's strategic fundraising efforts.

Theresa Backhus

Director, Building Innovation Hub
Theresa@buildinginnovationhub.org
Theresa Backhus is the Director of the Building Innovation Hub, ensuring that the Hub’s mission and strategic vision are executed.

Amy Boyce

Director, Codes and Technical Strategy
amy.boyce@imt.org
Amy develops and deploys local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation through codes and building technology.

Julia Eagles

Associate Director of Utility & Regulatory Strategy
julia.eagles@imt.org | (612)747-9821
As IMT's Associate Director of Utility and Regulatory Strategy, Julia is responsible for developing and deploying local, state, and national level strategies to achieve broad-scale transformation.

Zachary Hart

Director, Building Performance
zachary.hart@imt.org | (913)568-9813
Zack leads IMT's work in developing and delivering programs and strategies that support the successful implementation of BPS and building performance policies.

Jessica Miller

Director, Policy Strategy and Engagement
jessica.miller@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x320
Jessica creates connections between the public and private sectors and works with diverse stakeholders to reach their respective climate and business goals.

Precious Rideout

Director, Community Engagement
precious.rideout@imt.org
Precious Rideout is IMT's Associate Director of Community Engagement, where she serves as the primary representative to community organizations ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and people.

Alexandra Laney

Associate Director, Communications
alexandra.laney@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x301
Alexandra is the primary contact for media relations and manages IMT's public presence, including digital strategy and communication campaigns.

Mike Towler

Director, Finance and Operations
mike.towler@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x313
As IMT's Director of Finance and Operations, Mike helps manage and support project- and organization-wide financial planning and strategy.

Tara Brown

Manager, City Solutions
tara.brown@imt.org | (612)524-8558
Tara Brown is IMT's Manager of City Solutions.

Hae-Young Kang

Senior Manager, Accounting
haeyoung@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x307
Hae-Young oversees IMT’s accounting and ensures nonprofit audit and accounting compliance.

Benjamin Silverman

Manager, Policy Design and Implementation
ben.silverman@imt.org
Benjamin Silverman is IMT's Manager for Policy Design and Implementation. He works to implement IMT’s public sector strategies and the adoption of decarbonization policies in achieving climate and equity goals.

David Gillick

Manager, Business Engagement
david.gillick@imt.org
David is IMT’s Manager of Business Engagement, focused on providing data and policy analysis to drive market adoption of high-performing building standards and social equity priorities.

Rita Perez

Senior Communications Associate, Digital Strategy
rita.perez@imt.org | (202)525-2883 x331
Rita is IMT’s Senior Communications Associate and plays a vital role in shaping IMT’s social media strategies and multi-media production of outreach plans across IMT programs.

James Burton

Senior Associate, Policy
james.burton@imt.org
James is IMT’s Senior Policy Associate and supports IMT's mission to promote the development and adoption of equitable building performance policies by state and local governments.

Caitlin M. Caplinger

Senior Communications Associate, Storytelling
caitlin.caplinger@imt.org
Caitlin M Caplinger (they/them) is IMT's Senior Communications Associate, Storytelling, and joined IMT in April 2022.

Giulianna Di Lauro

Senior Manager, Community Engagement
g.dilauro@imt.org
Giulianna is IMT’s Senior Community Engagement Manager. In her role, she serves as a primary representative to community organizations and city staff ensuring that inclusive community engagement solutions are centered on equity and accessibility.

Sarah Beth Kaye

Development Manager
sarah.beth.kaye@imt.org
Sarah Beth organizes IMT’s end-to-end grants management and donor cultivation processes.

Cherylyn Kelley

Manager, Building Energy Codes and Policy
cherylyn.kelley@imt.org
Cherylyn is IMT’s Manager of Building Energy Codes and Policy and supports policy development and implementation.

Rajiv Ravulapati

Senior Manager, Government Engagement
rajiv@imt.org | (630)390-6221
Rajiv Ravulapati is IMT’s Senior Manager of Government Engagement, where he serves to actively build and maintain relationships with IMT’s public sector clients in order to plan, propose, and implement equitable decarbonization policies that center community priorities.

Marla Thalheimer

Senior Director, Business Engagement
marla@imt.org
As IMT’s Senior Director of Business Engagement, Marla oversees the evolution and execution of programmatic strategy and services that drive high-performance building adoption across the real estate industry.

Ella Wetlesen

Senior Associate, Business Engagement
ella.wetlesen@imt.org
Ella Wetlesen is IMT’s senior associate for the business engagement team, supporting projects across the organization.